sweet goddess, i’m audre lorde!

Which Western feminist icon are you?


You are Audre Lorde! You were one of the first wymyn to write love poems to other wymyn, long before it was safe OR cool. You put the “rad” in radical feminism, but somehow still managed to create a cult following in people who would never identify as radical themselves.
Take this quiz

I read a little bit of her work in my [Women’s] Wymyn’s Studies classes- she kicks so much ass:

I did not fall from the sky
I
nor descend like a plague of locusts
to drink color and strength from the earth
and I do not come like rain
as a tribute or symbol for earth’s becoming
dark and open
some times I fall like night
softly
and terrible
only when I must die
in order to rise again.

Thanks, Eden, for the quiz linkie. If only I had the hair…

3 responses to “sweet goddess, i’m audre lorde!

  1. I am, apparently, Virginia Woolf, which is intersting, but I do not think accurate. Oh well, I answered the questions.

    ‘veeta

  2. wow!

    “You are bell hooks (no capital letters)! You were one of the first black wymyn to discuss in public spaces the differences between being a black womyn and being a black man or a white womyn. You are the mother of intersectionality and you couldn’t care less about identity politics. Thanks for making feminism accessible and calling the white, middle class wymyn on their bullshit!“

    though i’m not black, it seems i do belong to a minority:

    1134 other people got this result!
    This quiz has been taken 52949 times.
    6% of people had this result.

  3. Woot for Virginia Woolf and bell hooks, and shout out to Professor Joan Randall @ WVSU who introduced me to them:)

Leave a Reply

