poem | river

This is far & away my favorite poem. I wrote it in the summer of 2000 I guess. I’m posting it because I’ll reference it later today in a carnival post. I’m not in a poetry phase right now. I go through cycles on a visual brain – poetry brain seesaw. When they meet in a suspended, gravity free balanced moment I do my best work, integrating text into my visual art. This was written in a longer burst of poetry brain when I was doing slams at a local bar, occasionally even winning. Somewhere I still have a Jagermeister ballcap and lingering liver damage from the prize stash. I give you river:

i went to the river
& they gave me rivershoes:
strappy sandals w/ thick soles
to protect my feet:
high-arched & pavement spoiled,
from slipping
on smooth rocks
or opening
over sharp ones.
the straps of my sandals
bit into me
& i blistered.
but i set my jaw
& waded out to the deeper waters
where i could feel
the will of the current testing mine.

the rushing tickled
my calves & ankles
& it aroused a desire
to surrender & become
completely wet.

i sat down on the rocks, face tilted back
yeilding to sun above &
water surrounding.
i leaned far back,
letting the river wash my hair
& tension
away, behind me.

w/ the river embracing me,
& the sun filling my eyes painfully,
i wrote a poem
about alchemy & baptism
but the river took it-
i couldn’t bring myself to dry off long enough to write-

so i gave it over to the
fire & water
spoke my poem to the sun
where it danced & rippled across
the water where the
light & coolness
mingled i released the poem &
let it be a prayer instead

now i am getting acquainted w/ this river
& falling in love w/ her.
for a time i sit,
bathing blissfully
& trying to remember the word
for a river nymph
so i can name this experience.

now, moved,
i wade deeper, where the water
splashes my thighs then
my crotch & the cold
makes me gasp & giggle.
i explore, with my feet
searching for the deepest place
& then finding it
i peel off my bathing suit
& toss it onto a pile of stones posing,
until a rainier season,
as land.

the rivershoes come off next.

a watersnake slips through the river
& slithers up onto the stones
curling up beside my discarded clothing.

i go headfirst into the water.
the river drinks me.
the perfect, clean cold
shocks & thrills me
raising bumps on my skin
like the floor of pebbles beneath me.
each a hard, smooth piece of earth,
each a single cell
of the riverbody.

i float
above & a part of them,
head down,
eyes open,
hair like snakes
coiling around my vision.
as i look down,
the harsh gaze of the sun follows
& performs its own initiation.

during that hot day, it
stings & blisters
me, killing 2 layers of my surface
that i will peel off
7 days later,
awed at shedding my own skin
& remembering watersnakes
& cool ripples singing across stones
& the eye
of that singeing sun
finally accepting me-
wrinkled, red, & blistered-
welcoming me to the summer.

One response to “poem | river

  1. Wow. I love this. I felt like I, too, was baptized in this beautiful, divine river. What an experience. Thank you for sharing…I needed to be cooled down after days of this scorching desert head!

Leave a Reply

