tv free life

…It is boring. We have been reading (Bu & I) The Plug-In Drug. I bought it to pass along to Papaw, but I’m sure it’ll be just as helpful to him as the stack of right-wing books of his that sat beside my shitter being ignored for several months. It’s fascinating, and validates my TV worry. So we have reinstated our no-tube-if-Molly’s-in-the-room-rule. She still watches (well, not actively) 20+ hours at the grandies’ each week. That seems kind of obscene now that I count it. She’s starting to watch it more intently, definitely. I don’t know what to do about reducing her screen time there; it’s a really ingrained habit in Papaw’s life. I think that having her in a loving family home instead of daycare outweighs the TV time, though.

I was feeling for Papaw yesterday, though. I was bored. The Bird was very fussy and wanted to be held constantly and nursed a lot. Would have been pretty fun to plop down in front of the Style Network and veg out. But when I do, and I see her zone into the commercials, it wigs me out. So we hung out, and it was OK. The adjustment from sort of worrying but watching anyway to zero TV is weird. It’s sort of disturbing to me to realize how much I depend on teh mindcrack. I also got really annoyed when Bu went upstairs to watch something and the baby and I were in another room for quite a while. Felt like he was picking TV over us, but he was just following my rule. As the Boue gets older and can play alone more, it’ll probably be cooler. I can read, sketch, whatever while she plays. Maybe actually be able to get housework done without her screaming with her little demanding hands up every single second.

3 responses to “tv free life

  1. Over a year ago, my husband and I decided to give up on TV. We canceled our satellite service (and consequently our beloved TIVO) and haven’t regretted a single day since. I only watched about 4 hours a week even then but my husband was addicted (and that was TIVO TV even). But my husband felt it was taking too much of his time and didn’t want our girl to have constant access.
    I love not having TV noise in my home. Now, my husband watches about 4 or 5 movies a week instead. I never watch them.
    It is a little bit awkward, though, when we have overnight company who isn’t used to it. I feel like they must be bored!
    I will say, however, that I probably spend just as much time on the internet as TV watchers do watching their stuff! Haha.

  2. we didn’t completely get rid of our tv but exchanged the big box for a much smaller set that sits in our bedroom. last year our tv receiver was broken and we had to switch channels by hand – only then did we discover that we really only need about 5 channels out of 50something. so now we only turn on the idiot box when we crash for the night, if at all. we check the 5 programmes, when there’s nothing interesting on, i grab a book. i’m amazed how much less time i spend in front of the tv. i’ve reduced my hours from 2 to 3 hours a day to maybe 5 hours per week. and i think i could do with still less.

    when i was little, my tv time was very strictly regulated. i was never “parked” in front of the tv but my parents scanned the tv guide and picked whatever they felt suitable, like one children’s adventure on the weekend, plus the daily sesame street. i’m pretty grateful they didn‘t get me addicted on the thing in my early years.

  3. Heidi- I love your new blog! I’ve been off for awhile- thrilled to see I’m linked to you, so hope I can link you also! 😉 I just bought this book on overeating (whoops, this is the TV post, but you’ll know what I mean) called When Food Is Love by Geneen Roth. If you google her you can find some articles she’s written. So far, this is really interesting stuff… and she makes a point of the reality that just getting thin won’t “fix” everything… anyway, can’t encapsulate it right now- too tired- but might be worth checking out. I’ll keep you posted, girl. 😉

Leave a Reply

