why pagans suck

I made time to go to ritual today for the Autumn Equinox, or Mabon. I hopped up out of bed the moment EmsyHippo opened her eyes and made corn pancakes with salsa and cheese, like enough for a whole army of hungry post-circle Wiccans.

I waffled all week, not really having time to go, but needing to connect with the earthsununiversemyself so badly. I almost didn’t go with toddler behavior qualms and a case of the sniffles… but I went.

I showed up a few minutes early, as I was asked, to help set up. I found one dude there, and I joked about Pagan Standard Time. Shortly, another guy showed up, a newbie who had a lovely statue of a Hindu God who’s a patron of homosexuals and was very pretty with a peacock. We chatted, the three of us, in the semi-awkward way that a couple of childless guys and a mom chasing a toddler who keeps lifting her shirt for a snack will chat. After an hour and a half of waiting for the woman who had organized the whole deal, I was bent. I think I was successful in not getting bitchy or venomous and politely excused myself explaining that I’d put a really busy life on hold for a while but couldn’t sit all day waiting.

I exposed the baby to a blue streak of curses as we drove away, and I felt better. I’m pretty pissed, though. It’s really bloody disrespectful to expect people to wait that long for you. Ridiculous. I’m no longer wondering why I’ve fallen away from this group.

***

That out of the way, Happy Autumn:)

6 responses to “why pagans suck

  1. Happy Autumn, dear one!!!!! Sorry your celebration didn’t go as planned 😦

  2. wow, that really sucks. i’m quite allergic to this kind of people, who don’t have enough respect not to waste other people’s time.
    i hope you had a lovely weekend and happy autumn equinox anyway – i think we got the last weekend of summer, autumn has been in the morning air for at least three weeks and some leaves are already beginning to turn.
    happy autumn!

  3. Pagans are flaky. Not you & me of course but the other ones… 😉 I think this is why the phrase “solitary practioner” is so popular.

  4. You could also worship at the altar of Thordora. 🙂

    I hate waiting. I’m always on time, and it annoys me when others aren’t.

  5. But I DO worship at the altar of Thordora! I’m totally a convert:)

Leave a Reply

