voodoo, dreads, and plastic green skeletons

Hi. How ya doin’?

Click through for TNBC-inspired layout lurv. Much love to the creators of these Tim Burton fonts & dings. 

Still giddy. Work desk adorned with dollar store skeletons in neon green & purple. The cheapest old ratty nylon black wig in the western hemisphere is mid-transformation. I wanted this, but funds being rather scarce, I’m “repurposing” the old trashy thingy. It’s becoming something vaguely like dreadlocks on one side with beaded stubby ponytail in back, and there’s a big obvious seam that I’m gonna cover with a tikka-esque creation of some sort. Bu is teasing me about my Tia Dalma fixation, but I tell him any self-respecting Voudon* priestess would have a Carribean accent and wicked awesome dreads. But OMGoddess Tia Dalma is so totally hawt yum wow. Teeth notwithstanding.

*Interestingly, for a Wiccan, I’m alternately fascinated and frightened by “Voodoo” ritual. Actually the fright kind of compells the fascination. And, being the overthinker and worrier I am, I have plans to light a candle or something as a quick show of respect for the loa. Don’t want to project any cultural disrespect. And also: I’m very attracted to Erzulie’s symbols & stuff. And I wanna go to New Orleans via Lexieland. OK. That is all.

4 responses to “voodoo, dreads, and plastic green skeletons

  1. Tia Dalma? FUCKING ROCKS.Gorgeousness incarnate (well, duh).

    For the dread wig making: http://quinnster.fqdn.net/

    (That site is ADDICTIVE!!!)

    One day you will come to Lexielandia and we will go to NOLA. I promise!!!!

  2. ha! that sounds fun, though halloween is not a big freakout here in germany. oh, and i know making dreads is quite a chore. it’s been two years since i knotted my sweethearts hair, it took me two or three nights, and my arms and shoulder were really sore every time.
    will we see pictures of you?

  3. I lurve Tia Dalma (and still haven’t seen #3). I think next year, I’ll do that costume. Brilliant idea!

  4. @Bine,
    lol… I’m pretty sure I make it a bigger freak out many, but it’s the one time a year when I can just let loose with the weirdy gothy freakydeak:)

    @Eden,
    Oh, you MUST! Hawk could be Jack…*deppgasm* or Davy Jones if masks are OK:) Here are sweeeet links to some replica props that I wantwantwant:

    http://www.mydoor2yours.com/servlet/the-3008/Tia-Dalma-Necklace/Detail

    http://www.mydoor2yours.com/servlet/the-3007/Jack-Sparrow-Pirate-Beads/Detail

Leave a Reply

