really yum potato soup

My recipe book reads kind of like a journal. Or a lab report.  There’ll be an original recipe then there are my notes and slashings through (and also dried, caked on splatters.) This is sometimes because I need math reminders when I half a veg recipe Bu won’t eat. Usually there are substitutions for cheaper, less exotic spices:) And occasionally I just want to feel adventurous and can’t bear to follow a recipe perfectly.

I have perfected a Potato Soup Experiment. Let me show you. The original recipe is here, for reference. My version is this:

  • 5 small potatoes, peeled & diced
  • some margarine, butter, vegan stuff
  • 1 medium white onion, chopped
  • 2 cups veggie broth
  • garlic powder and minced garlic (b/c I dumped the powder in, then found the minced stuff. Use as you will. Lots is good.)
  • chives- a whole buncha
  • 2 cups of milk mixed with 2 tbs all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup instant mashed potatoes. (always a staple for teh Birdy, seemed easier than blending*.)

In a 2 quart saucepan, cook the onions in some butter until soft.
Add the potatoes and the broth. Simmer on medium until reduced by half-ish and potatoes are soft.
Stir in the milk/flour stuff. Add spices and simmer a bit.
Stir or whisk in the instant potatoes. Salt & pepper to taste. Yum.

*The original version tells you to puree half of the soup then add back in. This is how I make my black bean soup thick. I saw a groovy tip on TV: if you’re blending hot stuff, take the middle part of the lid off of your blender and put a rag over it. Then the heat won’t explode your stuff.

4 responses to “really yum potato soup

  1. Oh my … haven’t been by for a while. I LOVE your new look and home.
    S.

  2. Aw, shucks:)

    I’m sick of it already. Oh the cursed easily bored eye of me!

  3. I write in my cookbooks, too. Notes about when I made it, for whom, how it turned out, etc. My mom does the same thing, and I love reading her cookbooks, with comments like, “Cookies so bad I actually threw them away.”

  4. Yummy.

    Soups like this are why I love my stick blender. Just stick it in the pot and rev it up until it’s a smooth – or not – as you want it.

    I love the idea of writing in my cookbooks… I’d never actually thought to do it before. Huh.

Leave a Reply

