completion, a story told

I missed the part where there are weekly winners in the Sexography Grassroots Blogger Book Marketing Campaign. I noticed the link to RAINN and the awesomeness of the premier entries and I happily signed up without thinking (until after the first “submit button heart palpitations.”) Then just this minute I logged into my WP dashboard and saw a new incoming link from Kapgar and realized that my Primal Scream entry was picked for this past week’s winner.

I feel such an emotional stew in my belly with this- coming on the heels of mom’s birthday it feels like a gift to her and that shakes me. Recently, the painting I think I mentioned before came back into my awareness. I’d made a fire breathing goddess painting for V-Day and it was sold in an art auction for a Rape Crisis network in town. I found out last week that a midwife I admire a lot (the only one who does home births in my town- maybe my state) had bought it. She had just then connected my mommy posts on an email network with my signature on the painting. She told me she has used it to help teens and young women talk about abuse and anger and I fell apart in tears of amazed gratitude.

The feeling of carrying this burden on mom’s behalf makes this such a healing experience- writing and painting and screaming for her.

Thank you.

_________________

This post is a celebration of the Sexography project in support of RAINN– the Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network. RAINN provides information, education, outreach and other services. Among its programs, created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 1.800.656.HOPE. Please consider a donation to RAINN. If you donate, please mention the Daisybones blog and note “GBBMC:08″ in the “donation in honor of” section (in addition to anyone you want to honor, including yourself.) This will allow project-related donations to be tracked, and every donation sent from my blog will be (to me) regarded as honoring my mother and all others who were kept silent. Thank you.

3 responses to “completion, a story told

  1. You’re welcome as your post very much deserved the recognition.

  2. *hugs*

    That entry was an incredible tribute to your mother – I’m glad that it’s been more publicly recognised than “just” your circle of friends 🙂

  3. Pingback: silent scream rape

Leave a Reply

