sainthood + baby pagan prayers

Did you know I’m eligible for sainthood? Yes. I am. I’m pretty sure that mothering a child for 23 months, 6 days, 4 hours, and eleven minutes without doing any of the following qualifies one for sainthood:

  1. Losing my goddamned mind
  2. Slapping, spanking, biting, or otherwise hurting the child
  3. Killing, castrating, or divorcing her father
  4. Selling her on eBay

She is in a spitting phase, she has a cold, we did not sleep, she will not eat, she will not be anywhere but my arms or [out]”side.”

Speaking of religion… she insisted we say grace tonight before she ate adamantly refused to eat dinner. I did a generic improv thing with generic “Lord and Lady,” which always makes me feel so old skool trad Wiccan. Which I am not. But I was charmed that she likes to say a meal blessing- the grandies have taught her.

Google turned this up:

Mother of Plenty, bless this bread
Father of the Grain, lend your seed
Let it nourish heart and head
Let it nourish thought and deed
Let its breaking be a spell
That hungry mouths be fed as well
And let its eating keep us free
As is our will
So mote it be!

Cute. I like. My searches for bedtime blessings yielded more poetry and made me say “aw…” and leak breastmilk they were so precious. (Argh! Where are they? I saved them… Oh. I’m a dork: My Docs->babybookofshadows.doc) OK. Look how adorable:

Day is done, it’s time for bed
Goddess bless my sleepy head
Earth and Water, Air and Fire
Bring gentle dreams as I retire
When the morning sun does rise
God will bless my open eyes

Now I lay me down to sleep,
Please help me learn my world to keep.
To guard the air and skies of blue,
The oceans, lakes and rivers too.
Save the mighty forest lands,
The plains, the shores, the desert sands.
Protect all creatures, wild and free,
In air, on land, and in the sea.

4 responses to “sainthood + baby pagan prayers

  1. aw, baby’s BOS! Children + rhyming couplets=total adorableness.

  2. I tapped Ciaran on the head today when really I wanted to slap him. And it WAS just a light, soft tap that he didn’t even notice.

    This age is sucking more and more in every way except for sleep.

  3. Yes, you are clearly eligible for sainthood, or at least some serious love on Mother’s Day.

    When I was a kid, my mom made us all join hands and sing a prayer before dinner. She forces us all to do it to this day, and Jack has decided that he likes it, thus continuing the trend of us all singing (badly) before dinner. It’s a nice little prayer and could easily be adapted from its Protestant version to something more pagan, as it has a great nature message.

    The Lord’s been good to me
    and so I thank the Lord
    for giving me the things I need
    The sun, the rain, and the appleseed.
    The Lord’s been good to me.
    Yay, Lord!

    (that last part is a Jack solo)

  4. Here’s a good, simple, meaningful one for very little ones we sing at school:

    “Give thanks to Mother Gaia,
    Give thanks to Father Sun
    Give thanks to the plants in the garden,
    Where Mother and Father are one.”

    xo Busha

Leave a Reply

