another meta drivel post

I’m pondering my future online. I’m concerned about having all these faces and diluting my energy, and also my what… power to cross-promote, I guess?  I’m half-assing an art blog/Etsy shop and partner parenting blog, and have a design blog and Cafe Press shop idling in the back of my brain. This blog, my precious “secret,” earns the most attention and energy from me and also gets the most hits (not a lot by blogosphere standards, but more than my other newborn endeavors, obviously.)

It seems like I should find a way to let my love of this BE a priority, and try to make at least a small bit of money with it… move to a self-hosted site, post (carefully, and sparingly) some ads and a “feed this starving wannabe artist button.” To try to be a more successful blogger, I feel like it shows more integrity or something to use my real name. Then I can actually use tools like MyTwitFaceSpaceBooker to promote all my junk at once.

I feel very distinctly fragmented. Embrace this, as quintessentially a me thing, or

Maybe it’s time to pick a direction and really focus? What exactly is the real value of having an anonymous blog? Is a safe haven to bitch about my life and write about sex occasionally worth putting all this effort into something that I don’t get real life credit for? It all comes across as very money driven, but I’m starting to address that. I’m just about fucking sick of being broke and having talents I know I can harness and letting them dribble out through the cracks in my manic, barely cohesive life.

It’s not like I’m writing anything subversive or worrisome. I might clean up the archives a bit if I decided to link to real me shit. I just don’t know. I want a direction and a feeling of goal-havingness with my online stuff. Maybe it’s not so bad to keep daisybones anonymous and separate. I’ve just realized recently that this blog is my absolute favorite creation yet, and I want to decide what to do about that knowledge.

======================

Also, I need to check my comments folder more often. Which is to say, ever. I rescued Available Light Kathy’s comments (thanks for telling me to look!) and discovered Liz Henry, which, I mean who- er whom?- was a great discovery. Hi, Liz, you are freakin’ gorgeous and brilliant. I realize your gorgeousness is irrelevant and it’s quite unfeminist of me to  fixate on it, but zOMG your hair is killer.

3 responses to “another meta drivel post

  1. I totally hear you. I’m in the middle of this right now.

    I’ve re-branded my actual business from hamilton birth revolution to hamilton doula. Transferring my site to the new domain was easy, but now I’m in the middle of changing over all the email and image links and re-write my new business name in each and every bleeding post!

    Then I have to really knuckle down and start marketing locally.

    I started a new vegetarian blog a while ago, but I haven’t been updating regularly.

    I started a new blog, the clever mom, for posting projects to do with your kids, which I want to treat as my “job” and hopefully monetize via ads. I’m almost completely finished adjusting the template and have very slowly begun to drop the content in.

    My usual blog, momcast, has fallen by the wayside. It is dying the inelegant death of blogfade as the other blogs take up more of my time.

    Like you, I think it’s high time I get paid for my talents. And, like you, I’m finding the journal style of blogging to be of limited appeal to me as I attempt to focus my passions into their own existences.

    I have to come up with some kind of workable schedule to get all my sh*t done!

    I’m always interested in guest posters, if anyone is willing 🙂 No sex writing on these blogs, though !!

  2. Yep, we are definitely having similar issues, although the personal journal blog hasn’t lost its glimmer for me:) It’s my favoritest thing EVAR and I need to see if I can make it earn its keep.

    Do you need a new logo header thingy with the re-brand? I don’t know if you’re using the one I put together but I’m sure I have the layered file still and can change the name if you’d like. We could do a whole redesign too.

    I’m up for sex-free guest posting fo sho!

  3. I still have lots to say, but it’s so intensely personal and all over the board, I don’t feel motivated to actually write it out.

    Maybe I need a whole new blog titled :Intensely Personal 🙂 Haha!

    After you very kindly designed those headers for me, I consulted with the co-chair of the birth network and we scrapped the newsletter thing, neither of us having time to run everything else we run AND build a newsletter. No, instead I’m going to find a new template for THAT site and re-design it. Someone give me an exposed firewire and let me fry myself before I commit to anything else!

    I finally managed to get photoshop, so I have been making gorgeously horrible headers my favourite way: layers of pretty brushes!

    I could totally use guest posts about projects to do with your kids. Any type of project: potty training, switching to a big kid bed, weaning, arts and crafts, gardening, cooking, learning anything new via a method.

    Email me at the new site/addy if you write something and I’ll happily add you with happy linkbacks to your blogs/jobs/own projects.

Leave a Reply

